My Confession

I’ve got a confession to make.

I am NOT good with technology.

So I am writing this post instead of getting up videos of my max lifts for you because, well, I don’t know how to get them up. I realize now that everyone else is adding pictures and video willy-nilly to their facebook and blogs because they have SMARTPHONES! I don’t even like the regular old fashioned mobile phone that just makes phone calls (something about being introverted and hating to talk on the phone).

Since I do not have a smartphone, I have to upload the video and pics (which I don’t know how to do without lots of reminders), resize or otherwise edit (which again I don’t know how to do) and then they can finally be put into my post.

This really hinders me from making quick, easy posts.

So, instead of posting my awesome videos of trying (and failing) to lift 220lbs, I will tell you about my experience beginning Geoff Neupert’s Kettlebell Strong program.

Since my goal of doing a powerlifting meet didn’t come about, I am switching my training back to kettlebells in preparation for  the RKC (Russian Kettlebell Challenge) certification that I am doing in October.

I am using the Kettlebell Strong program by Geoff Neupert which is all double kettlebell work. I am hoping that it will get me really strong and conditioned so that I have no problem with the snatch test and the rest of the work performed during the RKC weekend. The course is 3 full days of training, so a lot of volume.

I read through the Kettlebell Strong manual and have begun watching the video.

(And just for the record, I bought it myself, I am not an affiliate, I am not making money by selling his program)

Geoff recommends the clean and press as a great all around exercise for developing strength and power. I am going with this since my cleans are really terrible.

The manual and video cover a lot of corrective strategies for each exercise. I began applying these with the clean and immediately felt improvements when I was practicing. However, when I actually began training with my work weight bells at 16kg instead of 12kg. my problems came back.

Namely, banging my forearms as I rack the clean. This has always been an issue with me ever since starting with kettlebells. Because of this, I hesitate to teach the clean to my clients. And the clean is the foundation of double kettlebell work since you have to have the kettlebells in the rack to do any other exercise and you must clean them to get them into the rack!

[For reference here’s what a double kettlebell clean looks like.  Like I said, I’m not good with technology and  remembering how to embed a youtube video of a kettlebell clean is holding me up from posting this. So, at this point, you will have to find it on youtube it yourself if you don’t know and are curious:)]

Up  to this point, I have just kind of accepted that I will bang my arms and that I have to get used to it. But it would be really nice not to bang my arms. I know that I have too much of an arc when I bring them up my body, but I think I am afraid of hitting my fingers with the handles–which I’ve done before and it’s not very fun!

So the solution is to keep the kettlebells closer to my body, but how to accomplish that?

It seemed to work better when I was practicing with the lighter 12kg kettlebells, so perhaps I need to go back to that and practice. Geoff’s corrections include, keeping elbows glued to the body and remembering that the clean is not a swing (which is horizontal movement), it’s a vertical movement. He also recommends waiting a bit as you let the kettlebells fall out of the rack and get your hips out of the way at the last possible moment.

If you’re familiar with kettlebell cleans and have any suggestions or tips, please let me know what you’ve done to fix this problem!

Leave a Reply

